Holiday Finery

I thought I’d post a few of the photos Marc and I took on Christmas, showing off a few of the new additions to our wardrobe. Over the past year, we’ve developed a growing obsession with both vintage things (particularly Victorian era through the Great Depression) and old-fashioned craftsmanship. In an effort to both reduce our consumption and fill our home and closets with things that we truly enjoy, we’ve gotten rid of the vast majority of our poorly-made clothes from Target and Wal-Mart and have start replacing them with a few carefully chosen vintage or handmade articles of clothing that will actually stand the test of time and have the stitches disintegrate after the third wash.

Both the hats in these photos were purchased from Shushan’s Hat Shop in Jackson Square. I highly recommend this store–it’s family owned, and every hat Marc has bought from them has more than proved its value. The dress I got for Christmas from Modcloth.com, a good online source for kitschy and vintage women’s fashion. This is the first dress I’ve gotten from them, so I’m crossing my fingers that the handiwork is worth the somewhat hefty pricetag. So far the fabric feels sturdy and the stitching looks good…we’ll see how the report is after a little tough love tromping around the Quarter.

Speaking of craftsmanship, Marc got me the most AMAZING Christmas gift this year–he pre-ordered one of 1,800 limited edition copies of this book. My good friend Bryan lent me Little, Big by John Crowley a little over a year ago with the promise that it would rock my world, and it quickly became a formidable rival to Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger to be Nikki’s Favorite Book of All Time. If you’ve never heard of it (which is very likely, as it’s considered to be the most under-appreciated fantasy book of the 20th century), I highly recommend it. You don’t even need to like fairies to enjoy it, trust me. I used to think they were stupid.

Nikki

3 Comments

Filed under general nonsense, ink & paper

3 responses to “Holiday Finery

  1. Ria Rakis / Justice Pirate

    I have so many books I’ve been needing to read and you always make me want to add more to my list!!
    anyway you two are cute together.

  2. Love, love, LOVE the outfits, they are gorgeous on you both!

  3. Lindsey Davidson

    My friend Emily sent me your way and WHOA! So cute! Loving the blog! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

