In Which Nikki Will Clean All The Things.

Part of my New Year’s resolution to wrangle my home into Total Organizational Submission. Not that it’s a train wreck; by most people’s standards I’d say it’s pretty neat and tidy. But I’ve grown tired of my normal approach to housework, which is usually to do only the bare essentials for several days, and then spend the majority of one of my off days deep-cleaning every square foot of the place. Although a part of me does love the anal retentive nirvana that I attain when I know that all parts of the house are as clean as they can be all at the same time, I think that in general it’s a bad system that eats up too much of my free time and leaves me with a constant feeling that *something* needs to be done at the moment, even if I have no idea what that *something* might be.

So I’m trying out this chore chart deal. So far, I’m loving it way more than I expected to, mostly because at work I hate “down time lists” and would much rather operate on the “when you see something that needs to be done, do it” system, even though I know that’s not practical for a workplace. At home though, I like the chart a lot better because I designed it based on how I think things will work best for my week, and I can work on the tasks uninterrupted and any time of the day I want.

It’s also helpful for Marc, who wants to help me with housework when I’m at work but is usually not sure what to prioritize or when’s the last time something was done. So with the chart taped to our dresser mirror, he can look at the list on any given day of the week and know what he can help me with.

So far, instead of spending 4-5 hours one day a week on cleaning, I’m spending about 20-30 minutes a day, six days out of the week. A pretty good trade, in my opinion.

Fellow organizing freaks: what systems have helped you out, and why do you think they work well for you? Comment and let me know!

Nikki

P.S. In case you’re not an avid webcomic reader, my title is a reference to THIS hilarious blog by Allie of Hyperbole and a Half. If you’ve never heard of her, do yourself a solid and check her out. Hilarious writing and MS Paint comics will make anyone’s day brighter.

2 Comments

Filed under art of hospitality, general nonsense

2 responses to “In Which Nikki Will Clean All The Things.

  1. Ria Rakis / Justice Pirate

    Aw. very nice.

    I pretty much just have my schedule memorized over the years. Rob only has to take the trash out and not put his clothes on the floor but away when he changes. haha. I never ask him to do anything other than that.

    Usually I sweep and clean and scrub floors on mondays. I dust afterwards since the dust rises after vacuuming and after some time I let it settle then clean that. I clean the bathroom on Wednesdays. Usually on Tuesdays I clean my parents’ house for them (today my dad is sick with a fever so I’m at home). When you have kids. . .well you end up cleaning a lot of windows regularly (my one likes to spit on them sometimes and pretend he is cleaning. . ugh) and tables constantly. I do dishes every day sometimes 2 or 3 times a day! I don’t have many If something needs more than surface cleaning I’ll do that in the week too (like if the fridge is dirty or stove. . usually these get cleaned once a week too). I do laundry at my parents’ house when I clean their house (since I don’t have any machines here).
    Cleaning honestly doesn’t really take me that long since I keep things clean and clutter-free. My parents’ home on the other hand. . takes me 5 hours since they are clutter nuts and I hate it so much!!! Good thing I love them and try to help them out since they’re getting OLD.

Leave a Reply

