In Which Nikki Answers An Age-Old Question

Mary, Mary, quite contrary

How does your garden grow?

Quite well, thank you.

It would seem that my thumb isn’t quite as black as I originally thought.

Okay, okay, I suppose the fact that I’ve been surrounded by three experienced gardeners hasn’t hurt, either.

This is either squash or zucchini. I forget which one we planted on the right, so I guess that will just be a surprise. Either way, I love that the plants look like mini lilly pads.

Tracey constructed this awesome ‘ghetto trellace’, as I like to call it, out of an old curtain rod and yarn. Those little green guys you see there are snow peas, and kind of like toddlers, they are just dying to climb something. That’s what those little thin tendrils are for that you see sprouting from them. Now, the sky is pretty much their limit. And by sky I mean the top of our porch rail.

Cucumbers in the foreground, and bell pepper and tomato plants in the background. Our little side yard used to depress me so much because the chain link fence is sagging and we don’t have the money to fix it and I wanted to make use of the space but I just didn’t know what to do with it and blah blah blah. Now, it’s one of my favorite spots.

Even among all this blossoming greenery, I must admit that the thing that I am most excited about right now is finding a cool use for that stupid old tire that’s been chillin’ in our back yard for over a year and a half, annoying the mess out of me because I hate clutter but I also felt like I would have some kind of Creative Person merit badge stripped off if I didn’t think of some alternative use for it. Voila! Rubber planter, complete with drain holes. Warm fuzzies all around.

And of course I can’t forget about the little guys, our herbs. They are doing splendid, and the late bloomer on the right has finally caught up with his classmates.

In other news, I’ve slacked off a bit on the blogging in the last week as I’ve been kept pretty busy preparing for: 1. turning in my last short story of the semester to my writing workshop, 2. getting 8 middle schoolers and 4 high schoolers ready to show off their writing skillz at CFTA‘s Spring Showcase, and 3. planning Marc and I’s one-year wedding anniversary this weekend (!). For most of the year, we had been planning on spending our first anniversary at the Bocage Plantation, where we went for our wedding night. As it got closer, though, we decided that although it’s sentimental, there really isn’t a whole lot to do in Gonzales, LA for your anniversary besides have lots of sex at the Bocage Plantation (I’m married, I can say that!).

So we opted for something different.

Which you will have to wait until this weekend to hear about.

But I’ll give you one hint: it’s Cajun-themed.

Nikki

2 Comments

Filed under general nonsense

2 responses to “In Which Nikki Answers An Age-Old Question

  1. Victoria / Justice Pirate

    what progress!!!

  2. Yuuummm. I can’t wait for the day when I have space to plant my own garden. I have no idea what color my thumb is…but I guess we’ll find out!

Leave a Reply

